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INIS Errata and FAQs

Matagot – 2016 – Designer: Christian Martinez

99% of the notes here have been confirmed either by the designer or Matagot staff. I have 
tried to keep the wording as close to their language and as consistent as possible. 
Thanks also to BGG user ohbeone whose earlier file I have based some of this on.

General

4-PLAYER SET-UP: Territory tiles must touch at least two others, but may touch three.

2-PLAYER DRAFT: The two drafts are completely separate. The first three cards drafted are 
set aside and cannot be exchanged during the second draft.

BRENN'S FIRST TURN: The Brenn cannot Pass during the very first turn of a round. They 
must play a Season card. The Brenn must lead!

BUILDINGS: There are a finite number of Sanctuaries and Citadels. If they are all on the 
board then no more may be placed.

CAPITAL + SWAMP: The capital cannot be placed in the Swamp as it is still a citadel. NOT 
CONFIRMED BY DESIGNER.

CARD REQUIREMENTS: You can play a card even if you are unable do everything on it. This 
means
you can play a card with no effect, or a partial effect, and it counts as being “played”.

Examples:
a.  Festival: If you do not have a clan in reserve to place, you can still place a festival token 

where you are present with a sanctuary.
b.  The Stone of Fal: It says “place two” clans but if you have only one, or none, in reserve 

you can still play it.
c.  Warlord - Triskel use: if you do not have a clan to place you can still choose who does the 

next manoeuvre.
d.  You may want to play a card you are unable to execute instead of passing.

CLASHES: Clashes between more than two opponents are 1v1v1v1 (not 1vAll). I.e. A player 
may Attack an opponent who is not the Instigator of the clash.

DEEDS: Deeds are allocated freely when checking for Victory Conditions, however a single 
Deed cannot complete multiple Victory Conditions at once.
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DEEDS: Deeds are retained from round to round. Deeds are only lost if you are reduced to 
zero clans on the game board.

EPIC TALE PILE: In the event of an empty Epic Tale draw pile and The Dagda still in the 
hand of a player, then shuffle the discard pile into a new draw pile.

FIRST ROUND: After set-up, distribute Advantage cards to any players who are chieftain of 
any territories.

FLOCK OF CROWS: During Assembly this is tossed like a coin, not simply flipped to the 
other side. (Also see MORRIGAN below.)

PRETENDER TOKENS: A player cannot take more than one Pretender token in a round in 
order to block opponents from taking one.

TERMS:
"Initiator" does not always equal "Instigator". (See HIGHLANDS + FESTIVAL below.)

"Remove" does not equal "Replace". They are different events. Cards which specify 
one cannot be used in response to the other. Further, a clan which is "Replaced" is not 
considered to have been "Removed".

TRISKEL TIMING: If two or more players play different Triskel cards in response to the same 
trigger (i.e. simultaneously), resolve the card from the active player first. In a clash the 
active player is the one performing the current manoeuvre. Beyond that, resolve cards 
in turn order (Flock of Crows).

Territory Tiles

TÍR NA NÓG: Can be triggered by the Morrigan if the order of play changes. This is according 
to the original French rules; designers suggest ignoring this if you are playing in 
English.

Advantage Cards

HIGHLANDS + FESTIVAL: The Highlands card lets you change the “instigator” of a clash, but 
the Festival refers to the Initiator of a clash. The player who Initiates the clash loses a 
clan, Highlands does not change this.
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HILLS vs IRON MINE: The Hills advantage card can cancel the Iron Mine advantage card. 
Both cards would then be discarded.

IRON MINE: If the opponent has no action cards then Iron Mine is useless. It does not make 
the opponent lose two clans.

IRON MINE: An attacked player cannot choose to discard two Action cards instead of loosing 
one clan.

LOST VALE: Can move a friendly or opposing clan.

MISTY LANDS + MEADOWS: When playing both of these cards together you choose among 
one more Epic Tale cards (Meadows) but still keep only one (Misty Lands).

SALT MINE and COVE: Salt Mine says “Randomly take 1 action card from opponent. Then 
give that player 1 of your action cards.” Cove says “add it to your hand. Then set aside 
1 action card from your hand.” With both of these, you can return the card you got since 
you have already attained it; you are not required to return a different card.

STONE CIRCLE: The clan discarded to pay for this card's effect MUST be one of your own.

STONE CIRCLE: Allows you to retrieve an Epic Tale card instead of discarding it, so it does 
not go to the discard pile, even when The Dagda is played.

SWAMP: If the effect of this card is cancelled (e.g. by The Dagda) it is still considered to have 
been played. Therefore cancelling this card has no real effect.

Epic Tales Cards

CHAMPION'S SHARE vs COVE: If Champion’s Share is played earlier in the round than the 
Cove, Cove's effect is nullified (though it may still be "played"). If Cove is played earlier, 
Champion's Share will take the newly set-aside card.

DAGDA'S CAULDRON: The "previous location" is where the clash just happened.

DEIRDRE’S BEAUTY: The card reads: "Add 1 of these Epic Tale cards to your hand and 
discard the others. THEN remove 1 of your clans from any territory." When playing 
Deirdre’s Beauty, you can play the Epic Tale card you receive right away as it is now in 
your hand. For instance, if you get The Dagda’s Club, it says that you don’t have to 
remove a clan in reaction to having to remove a clan. Since it is in your hand before 
Deirdre’s Beauty forces you to remove a clan, you can play The Dagda’s Club and not 
have to remove it.
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LUG SAMILDANACH: Can be used to keep a card that has just been nullified by Geis.

MASTER CRAFTSMAN: Says to "discard 1 card if able, THEN draw 1 Epic Tale card." If you 
have no other cards then you can still play this and draw an Epic Tale card.

MASTER CRAFTSMAN: Yellow/Advantage and Red/Epic Tale cards can be discarded when 
resolving Master Craftsman.

MASTER CRAFTSMAN + LUG'S SPEAR: Master Craftsman can be played after Lug's 
Spear to claim a Deed.

MORRIGAN: Unlike in the Assembly phase, the Morrigan causes the Flock of Crows to 
simply turn to the other side.

MORRIGAN: With the Morrigan you can initiate a clash in a territory where you have no 
clans.

TALE OF CUCHULAIN: States “Remove any 2 exposed clans from this territory.” If there is 
only one opponent clan, you do not have to remove one of your own clans. The correct 
translation from French should have read “up to 2”.

THE BATTLE OF MOYTURA: Clans are moved or added to the territory in conflict. Those 
who move come from adjacent territories.

Action Cards

CITADEL: You can take a face-up Advantage card or one in the hand of another player.

EXPLORATION: The Brenn chooses the location of the new tile. The explorer chooses the 
orientation and places one of their clans.

FESTIVAL: If a player initiates a clash they lose a clan to the Festival, even if the players 
agree to a peaceful resolution. The clan is lost before peace is discussed.

FESTIVAL: If a player initiates a clash with a single clan, and then loses it to the Festival, the 
clash continues as normal for the remaining player(s) involved in the clash.

GEIS: This card nullifies the effect/text of an opposing card only; the opponent's card is 
considered "played" and "resolved", albeit with no effect. Geis cannot be used to block 
the discarding of an opponent's card, for instance.
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NEW ALLIANCE: If you do not have a clan to “replace” your opponent’s clan then you cannot 
do the replace action. You cannot just remove an opponent’s clan with nothing to put in 
its place.

WARLORD: Example - Players 1, 2, 3, 4. Player 1 uses the Warlord's Triskel effect after 
Player 2's manoeuvre, and chooses herself for the next manoeuvre. Players 3 and 4 
have effectively been skipped. The following manoeuvre will be Player 2 again. (Order: 
1, 2, 1, 2, 3, 4,...)

WARLORD: A player can use Warlord to trigger a clash in a territory where there are no 
opposing clans. For instance, to "withdraw" some/all of your clans to an adjacent 
territory where you are the chieftain without triggering another conflict.
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